shape
carat
color
clarity

New to this site-A few questions

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Loriann

Rough_Rock
Hello! I am so happy to have come accross this forum. I am a total newby when it comes to collecting gem stones. It''s weird. I just caught the bug. It all began one day flipping the channels and saw that I could actually by gemstones while at home and I was hooked. It was TANZANITE and all the talk of a grading system and buy while you can!!! Went out and bought several books trying to educate myself. It is fun, and I have taken a few stones for appraisal, and have been happy so far. But I do have a few questions, and please keep in mind that I am new to this. For starters, I was wondering what your thoughts are on Paraiba Tourmaline. My fav. show had some last week and I understood that it is rare. They were selling a .20 for 199.00 so I bought one and should get it today. However, when I called a gemologist to bring it in for appraisal, I believe her excact words were " Huh-Oh". She didn''t want to even go there. Something about hearing that something was "fishy" when it came to the testing of this stone and went into explaining (sort of) but I don''t get it. Does anyone know what she was talking about? I bought a Brazilian Copper Bearing Tourmaline. Not the Paraiba-Like from Mozambique. Much appreciated!
9.gif

PrecisionGem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Bear in bind that when you have a stone appraised, the value they assign it is a retail retail retail replacement cost. You should never expect you could turn around and sell the stone for that amount. From time to time I will have some of my stones appraised, and the values are always many times higher than I would ever dream of selling the stone for. I have one ruby that was appraised for over $3000, and I think its up on my web site for around $600.