shape
carat
color
clarity

New to the scene...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ucbsupafly

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I am a newbie to the site and the world of diamond shopping. After educating myself in the GOG tutorial and various posts in the forums, I believe I am now ready to test the waters and start my engagement ring shopping. My budget is 10K for everything. What is the best diamond I can get w/o sacrificing too much on color (D-F) and clarity?

I have found the two following H&A rounds, which one do you think is a better buy?

Round - H&A
1.01ct
D
SI1
EX/EX/IDEAL
Depth: 60.8%
Table: 56.9%
Crown Angle: 34.2
Pavil Angle: 40.8
$6650

#2 Round - H&A
1.01ct
E
VS2
EX/EX/IDEAL
Depth: 60.7%
Table: 56.4%
Crown Angle: 34.3
$7238

Both scored high on various analysis (L-Scope, B-Scope, ISEE2) so I guess the trade off is color vs clarity. Which one would you knowledgeable people go for? Or is there a better deal out there on pricescope?

Thanks in advance!

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
Why is that 2nd stone $600 more for less color? I guess the clarity bumps the price but IMO color is more important. Both #'s are really nice, #2 looks a bit better in terms of #'s but I don't like the price jump. The difference visually between #1 and #2 should be minimal if their images are similar...and size is no difference...I would go with #1 because of the simple fact that it's cheaper. At this point you are probably splitting very fine hairs, so why spend the extra $600 on something you can't see (though you may see some color better in D).

Sounds like the images and all that look great....in this instance clarity is not worth $600 more for E color IMO.
2.gif
I'd go with #1!

Great eye!!
1.gif
Congrats on what seem like two excellent stone choices!

Robyn12

Shiny_Rock