shape
carat
color
clarity

Need help redesigning my double-halo e-ring.

missmelee

Rough_Rock
Attached is a photo of my e-ring, which my fiance and I had custom-designed. I had been going back and forth between a double and single halo, and in the end the designer convinced me that a double halo would be more unique. He reassured me that if for any reason I didn't like the final product, he would make me a new ring. I've been wearing the ring for a few months now, and can't decide how I feel about it. In many ways I think it's beautiful, particularly in certain light when it has lots of sparkle, and I love the overall shape ... but there is something about it that just seems a bit "off." In natural light when there is no sparkle, the halo seems so large that it takes away from the center stone. I want to find a way to make the halo smaller. I can't decide whether the side-stones in the halos are too big (they are 1.2 mm) or whether it is the design itself that is bothering me -- e.g. whether two rows of melee on the same wire, as opposed to two wires, would have been more to my liking. I also wonder whether I would have preferred single cut, as opposed to full cut, side stones. I think I am going to end up having the ring redesigned. Here are the options I am weighing:

1) Same design with smaller, single-cut side-stones (probably 1 mm, as opposed to the current 1.2 mm size).
2) Two rows of side-stones with the same general shape except not on separate wires, so the stones would be closer together. In this case I am torn about what size side-stones would be best.
3) A more rounded halo with two rows of diamonds, similar to this, but with the band remaining the same: http://artofplatinum.com/vault/halo-style-diamond-rings
4) Single halo with millgrain, e.g.: http://artofplatinum.com/vault/platinum-engagement-ring,, or maybe with a side-row of micropave, e.g.: http://www.engagementringsdirect.com/annette-contemporary-micro-pave-halo-engagement-ring-bpid-93-15.html