shape
carat
color
clarity

Need an education on Lab Diamonds

Ann

Brilliant_Rock
I never thought I'd be looking at lab diamonds! But I have 2 projects in mind that it makes financial sense to use Lab stones. I have no knowledge to base decisions on. I see stones with treatments (?) and I have no clue what that is or how it affects the stone. I also see very affordable stones then I see stones that are quite pricy and typically "in-house" stones. (from a trusted vendor). Is there info here on PS that anyone can point me to? Thanks.

DejaWiz

Ideal_Rock
Hello, Ann!
In general, I like to play it very safe and focus on D-E color SI1 or better HPHT and then look for blue/gray hues and clouding...as long as neither are present (unless a Type IIb is desired), then it's an extremely safe route with selecting a well cut and proportioned LGD.

If you'd like us to post some examples, then give us a budget cap (real or fabricated) and we'll provide some links to wonderful options for you to take a look at.

tofab50773

Rough_Rock
Same boat. Here is what I have been able to learn so far (preface it by saying that I still may be wrong about this). Thanks to a bunch of people on here who are not afraid to educate!!!

1. Good LGDs are just as nice as Natural stones
2. HPHT is a better process than CVD (especially when the stone has undergone numerous treatments). HPHT can also undergo an additional post-treatment (as can natural stones) but too many - and that is a problem.
3. Look at certs and they tell you about #2. GCAL is great, GIA is good, IGI is good (for lab stones since they were in this space early).
4. Have them looked at under a scope, if possible.
5. Buy from a reputable dealer.
6. Live with it once you love it!!

Ann

Brilliant_Rock
Hello, Ann!