carat
color
clarity

Need advice to test an engraved gold band

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hey folks,

I have a total newbie dilemma. I bought this ring sold to me as 10k and diamonds but every one of these rings in this style I have seen has been 18k. If you look at the pictures it looks like one of the pilot holes for a diamond is obstructing the hallmark. Of course I paid the 10K price and if it turned out to be that it's totally fine since I bought for the aesthetic, I mean just look at how crispy that engraving is :kiss2:

So I will have to test it, I do not have a gold testing kit but I have a trusted person I can bring it to. My concern is doing this scratch test on an engraved band where is the best most inconspicuous place to take the sample? I was thinking the edge although I think there is milgrain there. Is there any alternative to the scratch test?

Also, because I like to make my life as complicated as possible, it is about 1/2-1 size too big. I know resizing on these types of bands is not recommended but if I am going down is it possible to resize without interrupting the pattern too badly? I could do sizing beads but I don't think they will take up enough room. Of course I could always sell it :twisted2:

TIA for any and all help!

IMG_1691.jpg IMG_1683.jpg IMG_1689.jpg IMG_1690.jpg IMG_1691.jpg

stracci2000

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hmmmm, that milgrain may be a problem. The testing removes some gold from the piece, and usually it is not noticable. But with this band, I wouldn't want any detailing to be compromised.
I'd just assume it's 18k.
I had the same dilemma with a white gold and sapphire ring that I bought a while ago. The mark was very hard to read, and the tag from the dealer said 10k. And, like you, every ring I had seen (and believe me, I surfed hundreds on Ebay) in that style was 18k. So when I tested it, sure enough, it was 18k.
I got my test kit from Amazon, it was about $15. It has certainly come in handy!

PreRaphaelite