shape
carat
color
clarity

NATURAL RUSSIAN DEMANTOID GARNET

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

BoxOFrocks

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone im new to the world of gems and would like to share my latest gem with you all.
its a NATURAL RUSSIAN DEMANTOID GARNET! almost 10 ct .i am buy know mean a expert in fact i am a marine engineer.
that sails the high sea a pirate some might say!
so my question to the world is this.i except the fact that its not the biggest or the bet but is it worth what i paid 4 it.
thanks boxofrocks!

9.68 ct NATURAL RUSSIAN DEMANTOID GARNET.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Looks very green. Are the fine inclusions I see radiating from the center the horsetail?

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
What did you pay for it and where did you get it from?

Have you had it appraised and tested?

BoxOFrocks

Rough_Rock
Hi thx u 4 the posts.the gem
31.gif
was bought 4 $1200 it is 10ct thorugh ebay .
Pieces: 1
Weight: 9.68 CTS
Shape: ROUND
Colour: GREEN
Clarity: VS
Size: 12X12
Type: DEMANTOID
Luster: AWESOME
Origin: RUSSIA
Treatment none

BoxOFrocks

Rough_Rock
More the gem is going to be looked at . came through Canada .yes there is plenty of asbestoes in the stone but was told this is normal.luster is crazy nice!
thx

ma re

Ideal_Rock
If this is indeed a natural stone (which should be checked by a gemologist), than I don''t think you overpaid. However, clarity description of VS(?) and luster description of "awesome"(?!?!) don''t sound encouraging. For what I know, "awesome" is not a normally used gemological term (especially in lab reports etc.) and if this stone is Very Slightly included I should get my eyes checked ASAP. Hope you can return it for a full refund if it turns out to be a scam. Don''t mean to scare you, I''m just a bit suspicious. Good luck
2.gif

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
I''m afraid that I am very suspicious.