shape
carat
color
clarity

My First Attempt to Make Tahitian Pearl Jewelry

Fly Girl

Ideal_Rock
I mentioned in the Holiday Pearl wish list that I was planning to make a Tahitian pearl enhancer and a pair of Tahitian pearl earrings. Well, today I did it. Remember that this is my first attempt to make wrapped wire jewelry, so please be kind. As with most things, it is clear to me that I would improve with more practice. But, everyone has to start somewhere.

When I recently purchased my Sea of Cortez pearl from Druzydesigns on eBay, I also purchased a fully drilled 9.5 mm x 13.3 mm "wildly colorful, plentiful pink, lavender, purple, green, and more...AAA quality...insanely gorgeous" (etc., etc., you get the idea :twirl: ) Tahitian pearl. I was thinking that the colors would go well with my new Catherine Cardellini dyed black freshwater pearl necklace. I was going to get an actual enhancer clip, but they didn't have any at my local Michaels, so I'm using a lobster clasp for the time being. I also picked up some 14k gold plated head pins. I already had the small gold loop.

After viewing a video on YouTube on How to Make a Wrapped Loop Bead, I popped the Tahitian onto the head pin, twisted the wire, added the lobster clasp with a small loop, and presto, done. I think it looks pretty good with the freshwater pearls. On close inspection, I can see more colors in the Tahitian, but from any distance, they look pretty good together.

Enhancer_1251.jpg

Enhancer1252.jpg

Ebay380276081401a.jpg

Fly Girl

Ideal_Rock
The ever popular neck shot along with closeups showing my beginner wire wrapping skills. I figure I can take this piece apart and redo it when I get a nice enhancer clasp.

Enhancer1256.jpg

Enhancer1258.jpg

NeckShot1332.jpg

Fly Girl

Ideal_Rock