shape
carat
color
clarity

Mogok Ruby, Appraiser, Gemologist, Goldsmith, Vancouver, BC

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lgcdr74

Rough_Rock
Hi People,

I am new to gem stone world. I have read a lot of information from this web site and they are useful for me. Recently, I have purchased a Mogok Ruby, I would like to find a well-reputable and reliable gemologist/appraiser to certify/appraise the gem''s validty/value (if possible I want to know the cost of doing it). I am also looking for a goldsmith (again reliable and well-reputable) to set the ruby on a pendant. I am living in Vancouver, BC. Don''t know who can show me pointers. I hope you can help or at least spread the word.

Thanks!

Ruby girl,
Jackie

PS I have posted this message in Colored Stone Board, but no one can really help me. I hope here there are more experienced people to give me directions. Thanks!
wavey.gif

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
Hi Ruby Girl. SGL can do a colored stone report for your ruby which will verify, among other things, whether the ruby is heat treated and country of origin.

I don't know of anyone in Canada who does this, with the possible exception of the new EGL lab in Toronto.

lgcdr74

Rough_Rock
Hi Rich

Thanks for your information! It's just being in Vancouver, I do not find anything resourceful to locate a reliable gemologist. From the 'Appraiser' link, I see EGL has an office in Vancouver Downtown. Do you or anybody know how accurate their report is? And how pricey a report may cost?

Thanks in advance!

Ruby Girl,
Jackie
wavey.gif

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
We've seen examples of EGL-Toronto's diamond grading here on PriceScope. A vendor posted a comparison between half-a-dozen stones which had been graded by the HRD lab (an extremely competent laboratory), and EGL-Toronto's grading of the same stones.

The results were almost identical. It was quite impressive.