shape
carat
color
clarity

Looking for opinions on my shopping excursion

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Shawn

Rough_Rock
Looking for any opinions someone may want to offer.

This is my story...
bare with me I am new at this.

I looked at a few stones today. one at .89 ct H/Vs1 Mastercut(arbitrary name, nonetheless it was Ideal ags had "000" (Shreve Crump & Low) in a Platinum Setting $7250. He had GIA AGS digital images Sarin reports to go along with that or any diamond I may want.

I also Looked at a range of stones at another dealerin the Jewlery Building downtown ( Deprisco). They ranged from 1.ct to 1.29 (I think I looked at 6 or 7 stones within that range -although it is starting to become a blur
6.gif
) ) The stones, as the Gemologist said, were all of Class 1a cut Quality with colors e f g and I think there was an H. They were all either vs1 or 2 except the E that was a SI1. They all seemed like beatiful stones, clear white sparkly, I was allowed to handle thenm and use the loupe.. He had stones with and without GIA grading reports. He qoted me 6500 for a 1ct g/vs2 in the platinum lucida type setting.

Here is the kicker. As nice as the Larger stones were. The smaller one, at Shreves, Jumped out at me It was screaming and dancing under any light in the house(The sales guy even let me walk around to dark areas and we put it in the shade of a plant, I think if it were not so damn cold out he would have went outside if I wanted.) He said I could inspect loose stones(especially before making the purchase) but this was shown to me in a setting(that is their practice).
Shreves also offers 90 day money back no questions. Lifetime full purchase price upgrade. if you loose the diamond or if something happens to it they will replace it for free(there may have been a timeline with that one but I can''y remember) All this peace of mind comes with a price though, I guess.