shape
carat
color
clarity

Looking for Direction in Buying a Diamond - Help from the Experts

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

DarkOne

Rough_Rock

Hi Folks. I just found this site, but I’ve been doing some research the last few days. I am a novice when it comes to gems. I’ve done lots of forum searches, and I think I am asking a question which is the opposite of the standard. Usually, people have full specs and want to know what a diamond is worth. I have a worth and want some diamond direction. Hopefully, I’m not asking too many questions here, but this seems like a *really& knowledgeable forum, and I think you guys could help me out. When I buy a car, I know everything I can about that model before seeing the salesman. I am having a lot of trouble using that approach for this purchase.

The situation:

I am getting my wife a new engagement ring for our 10th. I don’t have a lot of cash, and would like to be in the $2500 range. I live in Philadelphia, and plan to buy at a Jeweler’s Row store. I prefer local, since I expect to have to bring it back for sizing, so I do not plan to go the internet merchant route.

The Specs, as far as I can tell

Neither of us are gemologists, so I am looking for something that looks good to the naked eye only. SI1 (or maybe even a good cut SI2) is fine for clarity, as is H or even J color. I would like it to be a decent, noticeable size, perhaps .75 or 1 carat, if possible.

I plan to go standard cut (EDIT: brilliant round), and have no idea of preference for the detailed factors, such as depth. I want something that looks pretty nice, isn’t really small, and won’t kill my wallet.