shape
carat
color
clarity

Local Jewelry Store - show and tell

ExplorePS

Rough_Rock
Happy Friday to you nacre lovers! I'm new to pearls and came across a local jewelry store that had a little bit of inventory. Luckily there was another lady who actually requested pearls to be brought in, and I just happened to be there the day before her appointment. All I know is they were recently strung up from their specific pearl distributor that week. I wish I had spent more time there and took more pictures but they also had a Golden Sea Pearl necklace that I didn't have time to take a picture of.

Question - Can you tell from the photos if these are "gem like" quality strands that I might be seeing if I were to shop at Takahashi or Pearls of Paradise? The prices are astounding and I can't tell if it's a general retail mock up or there are like AAAAAA++++ pearls?!

Question 2 - Given that all these necklaces are 18 inches, if I'm pulling it up higher on my neck, does it look like 16 inches is the right length of me or is it safer to do 17 inches? Or maybe I need to go back to the store and see how many "beads I would take out" to really get that answer.

Onto the pictures...

It had a more grayish tone than the other Tahitians that had more of peacock look.
This first set was 10 mm to graduated 15 mm. The length of the necklace was 18 inches, which was too long for me. I pulled up to see how it might look shorter on me. I forgot to take a photo of the price but I think this was $30K.

1715971630739.png

This set has more of the peacock look. Same length of 18 inches but on the right, I flipped it around to show a picture of the diamond covered clasp and also wanted to see if I preferred a smaller look. The pearls graduated from 11 mm to 15 mm. The cost on this bad boy was $60K!!???

1715971874565.png