shape
carat
color
clarity

Light Return and Hearts and Arrows vs. 4C's

Eric1103

Rough_Rock
Hi,

I have very little experience with Diamonds and I was hoping one of you could help me with a question I had.

I have been working with a Diamond dealer in the NYC area to help pick out an engagement ring. He has been pushing the idea on me that the light return (determined by the light path scope), the quality of the hearts and arrows, and the 3 dimentionality of the cut is more important then the color and clarity.

In the end he is offering a 1.5 carat I color SI1 clarity with an excellent cut for $11,500. The hearts and Arrows are very clear, and there is minimal light loss when looking at it in the light path scope.

At a different dealer I was offered a 1.5 carat F color VS2 clarity for $10,000. I'm not sure what the cut was, and was not shown the hearts and arrows or light return.

Being that all the other dealers I have went to don't talk about hearts and arrows or use a light path scope, I have been sceptical of whether I should believe it all. Am I making a mistake going down in color and clarity and paying more?

Please help!

Thanks
Eric

TitanCi

Brilliant_Rock
I'd say the dealer is making an informed buyer out of you (dealer one). It's important to know a stone's cut is crucial in determining how beautiful a stone will look. The "light path" scope he is using (I'm assuming it's an Ideal Scope) will reveal how much light a stone returns, thus making it look brighter and bigger versus a big, dead, dull looking stone. Can he take pictures of the stone for you so you can post them up here? Is it one of the vendors that PS features? You can search a vendor like jamesallen.com or whiteflash.com or briangavindiamonds.com to see if you can find something similar to what you're considering; they have live pictures and the Ideal-scope images too (except for james allen, you have to ask for it)