shape
carat
color
clarity

Jewelry Store Pricing

TomFord

Rough_Rock
Forgive me if this has already been asked. I did some searching but couldn’t find an answer.

I went to a local jewelry store, one with a good reputation, to look for an engagement ring. The sales rep showed me a few stones and when we narrowed it down to three I asked about the prices. I noticed the rep was just quoting me prices off the Rap List. I used to work in retail and understand the concepts of MSRP, MAP, overhead, terms etc., and I know (from my research on PS) that the Rap List is just a guideline that doesn’t take everything into account and is not the definitive way to get a final price.

My question is should I be concerned that the rep was just quoting me straight off the list?

Thanks for all the knowledge.

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
My bigger concern would be the quality of the stones themselves. Most Jewelers don't have excellent cut diamonds (beyond just gia XXX), and we know here that gia XXX includes some awful stones. Other Jewelers only have egl stones, which are even worse.

TomFord

Rough_Rock
First time buying a diamond so I'm trying to get educated. All the stones were GIA certified, but like you said it could still be bad. I could definitely see differences b/t the stones. I thought it was strange that there wasn't a price on the stone already and the rep just used the List to come up with a price without considering any of the other factors (e.g. how much they paid, how long its been in stock, etc).

Austina

Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you post what you’re looking for, I’m sure the good people here will be more than happy to help you.

distracts

Ideal_Rock
Premium
This. Please let us help you rather than buying from a random jeweler.