shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this 1920s Art Deco Ring Hand Made or Cast?

sapphirering

Shiny_Rock
Hi All,

This is my first thread, but I've been completely addicted to this website and have been lurking for months. I hope you wonderful experts can chime in. I recently purchased this ring on eBay and it's on its way. The ring has a green sapphire center stone which I will replace with a blue sapphire. I'm just wondering if there are ways to tell if the ring is hand made (by that I mean forged by hand), die struck, or cast? The ring is made in the 1920s, platinum. The method in which it was created will not sway my decision to keep it (I have 7 days to return it), but I'd like to find out more about the ring if I can. Once I get the ring, are there ways to detect how it was made?

Thanks for any comments!

photo_40.jpg

photo(2)_1.jpg

photo(3).jpg

stci

Ideal_Rock
I'm not an expert but I think this ring is a beautiful repro. Never saw an old ring (1920) in perfect condition like this one!

sparkle-magpie

Rough_Rock
Hi Sapphirering!! :wavey:

Looking at the shank of this ring, it doesn't display much wear...or the shank was rebuilt. I can't tell you much more than that- maybe it was a rarely worn treasure, or maybe it is a reproduction. At any rate, it is a lovely piece.

Let us know what you find out!

Take care!

ETA: rebuilt idea didn't occur to me until after I posted....

sapphirering

Shiny_Rock
Hi Sparkle-Magpie!

Thanks for responding! I just emailed the seller to see if he knows more about the history. I remember he wrote in the description that he picked up this ring and the other ring (link posted in my previous post) in an estate sale. But when I went back to see the description, he has either changed it or I confused it with another item. Anyhoo, it's not really that important to me that the item is a true antique, as long as it is well made. It's scheduled to arrive later this week and I can't wait to get it.