shape
carat
color
clarity

Is the GIA wrong or did I get ripped off?

hilbell

Rough_Rock
Hi experts. Thanks ahead of time for your insights...
The center stone in my engagement ring is a 2.5CT E - SI1. According to the GIA ratings, I thought this meant that no flaws should be visible to the naked eye, but it has a black speck in it that I can see most of the time in most lighting conditions. Isn't it only supposed to be visible with 10X magnification? The GIA report does note the flaw, so I do think I have the right GIA report for the stone, but I'm no expert either. I guess my question is, did I get ripped off and is this not properly rated? My family has bought a lot from this jeweler, so I do think that I could go back, but I'm not sure what to ask for.

Thanks!!

elliemay

Shiny_Rock
SI1 will usually mean eye clean, but not always. I've also seen a few threads about VS2 stones that aren't eye clean. And, to complicate it further, your definition of eye clean might not match my definition or your jeweller's definition.

If you have pics or more info about your stone, I'm sure some of the experts would be able to tell you if you paid too much. (I'm still learning and never have any idea of whether I've paid too much or not! :roll: )

Amys Bling

Super_Ideal_Rock
hilbell said:
The center stone in my engagement ring is a 2.5CT E - SI1. According to the GIA ratings, I thought this meant that no flaws should be visible to the naked eye, but it has a black speck in it that I can see most of the time in most lighting conditions. Isn't it only supposed to be visible with 10X magnification? The GIA report does note the flaw, so I do think I have the right GIA report for the stone, but I'm no expert either. I guess my question is, did I get ripped off and is this not properly rated? My family has bought a lot from this jeweler, so I do think that I could go back, but I'm not sure what to ask for.

Thanks!!