shape
carat
color
clarity

Is Kunzite doomed to fade?

diamondyes

Brilliant_Rock
I like the colour of kunzite but I’ve read that UV exposure can cause it to fade… perhaps I should skip this stone? Go for the same colour in sapphire? Anyone have kunzite?

When I studied at the GIA, they referred to kunzite as "the evening stone." The reason being that it is safest to wear the stone at night, because it does indeed fade under intense or prolonged light or heat exposure. It's too bad, because I love the deeper orchid shades. But if you only intend to wear it for special occasions, it may be a worthwhile purchase. A lot of it is also irradiated though, so you have to be careful when purchasing.

diamondyes

Brilliant_Rock
When I studied at the GIA, they referred to kunzite as "the evening stone." The reason being that it is safest to wear the stone at night, because it does indeed fade under intense or prolonged light or heat exposure. It's too bad, because I love the deeper orchid shades. But if you only intend to wear it for special occasions, it may be a worthwhile purchase. A lot of it is also irradiated though, so you have to be careful when purchasing.

Oh I didn’t know that about irradiation! Does that mean it’s unsafe to wear? Or that… well what does this mean for me?

stracci2000

Ideal_Rock
Premium
My lilac kunzite turned clear within a few years. That is the square cut.
And my pale minty hiddenite turned clear as well. That one is the oval cut.
I bought the stones loose.
IMG_20221112_073914087~2.jpg

IMG_20221112_073843613~2.jpg

IMG_20221112_073723048~2.jpg

Last edited:

diamondyes

Brilliant_Rock
My lilac kunzite turned clear within a few years. That is the square cut.
And my pale minty hiddenite turned clear as well. That one is the oval cut.
I bought the stones loose.
IMG_20221112_073914087~2.jpg

IMG_20221112_073843613~2.jpg

IMG_20221112_073723048~2.jpg