shape
carat
color
clarity

insurance question

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

blab13692468

Rough_Rock
hi all...i have an insurance question. i am 25 years old and am currently living with my parents. I moved back home after I graduated college and am working full-time. I recently purchased a loose diamond for $7000 and am waiting for my setting/mounting to arrive so I can have the stone set. The mounting costs $900. Since I am living at home, I do not have homeowners insurance. I will probably stay at home until I get married next summer. I haven''t popped the question yet, but I need some advice in regards to insurance. What are my best options?

Also...I purchased the stone for $7000 at a local independant store. Do I insure it for that much or do I insure it as if I bought it a big retailer like Tiffany''s? Do I insure the band/setting too? Thanks!

chas

Rough_Rock
Hi blab13692468,

Another option until you can aquire insurance is to keep the ring in a safe deposit box until you need it. This way it will be safe and secure until you are able to get your insurance for the ring.

Chas

NewlyEngaged

Shiny_Rock
Blab... You should be able to add the stone (and ring itself once it is a finished product) to your parents homeowners policy. It would be "scheduled", so it will not affect their rating with the company by adding it. I just insured mine and it was $16 per thousand dollars in value. Anything over that and it is $18. Not sure what the next "up" level is, but my ring appraisal is for $11,500, so I'm fine with those two tiers.

Not certain on insuring the stone itself though as I think about it while writing this to you. Some companies will not insure loose stones. Come to think of it, most won't. So okay, chas suggestion of a safe deposit box is more than adequate. Sorry, long day. Brain working moderate to good. Also planning to propose on Sunday, so brain way pre-occupied.