shape
carat
color
clarity

inclusion (chip?) on this princess cut

vedder50

Rough_Rock
One of the jewellers I've gone to advised to be quite wary of inclusions on a princess cut near the corners. This stone is a GIA graded VS2, and I've looked at it in person. Even with the loupe I couldn't pick up the inclusion on the corner (I'm not very experienced though). This is the first report on a stone I've considered that has listed a 'chip', and I'm not even sure which inclusion it's calling a chip based on the plot.

Bottom line, would you have any reservations on this stone based on the location / nature of the plotted inclusions?

untitled_23.png

Thanks,

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
A chip that reaches the corner of a princess cut?

No way!
I'd pass.

vedder50

Rough_Rock
I wasn't sure if the clarity grade impacted how important it is? For example, I assume if this was a SI2, one might have more concern that the 'chip' was more significant. Or is the general consensus that regardless of clarity grade, an inclusion of this nature is to be avoided?

Really like the optics of this stone, but just want to understand if this is a no-no.

I appreciate any feedback to help with my decision.

Diamond_Hawk

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
vedder50|1402901506|3694010 said:
I wasn't sure if the clarity grade impacted how important it is? For example, I assume if this was a SI2, one might have more concern that the 'chip' was more significant.

Vedder50,

Short answer - yes... and no. You are correct that the 'chip' will be reflected in the grading of the diamond, and by-and-large I would not be concerned about durability of a GIA VS2 stone. The processes of mining, bruting, and polishing the stone are very intense and any part of the diamond that has made it through all of that will likely make it through any day-to-day experiences it will have with the wearer.