shape
carat
color
clarity

I''m new and looking for answers

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Perkins

Rough_Rock
Hello everyone. I am brand new to Pricescope and I''ve been trying to check out all these posts to help me figure out the best diamond to buy for my girlfriend. I think I''ve learned a little, but I do have a question. It seems everyone has been stressing CUT, CUT, CUT and now I read the latest post saying CUT isn''t all that important. Now I don''t know what to think.

My budget is very limited. I have about $1500 to spend on a diamond, even less actually. I''d like to get the diamond for about $1000. I figure I can go down to H (or mabye even I w/ platinum?) in color and SI2 in clarity - as long as it''s eye clean.

Now what do I do about cut? Since I don''t want to get my girlfriend a tiny, tiny diamond, I need to sacrifice on cut and definitely cannot buy ideal cut. But I do want a well cut diamond because I know that''s important. I know the ranges for depth, table, etc. for ideal cut, but how about just a well cut diamond or maybe even just a very good cut diamond?

Also, how about on the HCA? What will I be looking for there?

Thank you for your help.

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
Hi Perkins...

First off take the post about cut being least important with a grain of salt. In my opinion someone who finds this forum is not average joe C and most likely wants a great blend of the 4C's with an eye for the 5th C...cost.
2.gif
Also, that post was really about people's varying priorities. You determine your own priorities and that is what you should follow. How important is cut to you? I will say that a well-cut stone will make the stone sparkle more and appear bigger than a non well-cut stone. So you may not need the hands down super duper louper ideal....but a very good make will maximize the visible look of the stone.