shape
carat
color
clarity

If you had 10K….

SylviaF

Shiny_Rock
Hello all!

I lost my engagement ring last Fall after 14 years of marriage, it was a modest but beautiful .50 ct princess cut with a baguette band on white gold. Hubby would like to buy me a replacement but I can't make up my mind on what I want and what's me. Help me!!!

My budget is around 10K. I am a quality vs. quantity girl. I have a pretty casual lifestyle. I'm an artist, a stay at home mom, we spend a lot of time doing outdoor sports and occasionally go out for a nice dinner, so I really don't have any fancy, over the top events. I tend not to like flashy, over the top jewelry. I want something simple and classic but a little offbeat at the same time, I know that a six prong tiffany solitaire would not make me happy, too mainstream for me.

So my question is, if you had 10K to spend on a ring, how would you spend it?

I hate halos or anything too elaborate, I have loved cushions at one point, now Asschers are sort of intriguing to me, sometimes I think some stacked bands would be prettier and more practical for me than a bigger center stone.

And I love Leon Mege's work.

Help!!!

ecf8503

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Lucky you! :)

I'd go look on Good Old Gold's site to get an idea of what you like (they carry a lot of different things) - they have a lot of different cuts, including their August Vintage rounds and cushions. If you like "offbeat" that may please you. Old european cuts and other antique style cushions can also be found elsewhere of course. But if you like asschers, take a look at the Octavia asscher GOG carries - it's different, with stellar light performance.

If you are thinking of fancy shapes, you can't buy by the numbers - you need to get ASET images at least, and videos would be nice too.

As far as settings go, maybe a semibezel would work for you - no prongs to catch on things.

ETA: Here's a few examples of different types of cuts: