shape
carat
color
clarity

Ideal H vs Very Good E

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

atldc

Rough_Rock
I am new to all of this diamond shopping so I am looking for some honest opinions. I am trying to decide between an Signature Ideal cut 1ct H color diamond or a Very Good cut 1 ct E color diamond. Both are are princess cut, at least very good to excellent in polish and symmetry and both are at least vs1. The big decision is between the Ideal H color or the Very Good E color. The diamond will be set in platinum. Any suggestions or opinions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance,

Dave

Patty

Ideal_Rock
Have you seen the diamonds? Can you tell that one is better cut? What about color?

If I were going totally from just what you told us, I''d go for the better cut.

Cut will always win over cut for me.
35.gif

moremoremore

Ideal_Rock
Patty makes a good point...you have to see them...

My take is... is you have a stone that isn't "ideal" just b/c a number might be off, but it's still a VERY GOOD cut...I'd go for the E. Numbers are important to me. But not as important as my eyes...

But you'd totally have to see them and I'd go for the one that caught my eye more...Can the vendor send you pix or you see them in person?

Oh yeah, and the one that's bigger might win me over
9.gif

PS. Blue nile is way over-priced if you're looking at their signatures or any other stones for that matter

goldengirl

Brilliant_Rock
You guys are funny... I would have said at this point, it pretty much looks like a tossup (unless you''ve gotten to see the stones or at least their ISes and see a marked difference), so *I''d* buy the one that''s cheaper.
2.gif

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
If they are both the same size and one is ideal and the other is very good. I''d go for the E. Numbers are a guide yes, but the eye''s are my best tool. Get pics if you can, that''s assuming you haven''t seen them. Good luck!!!