shape
carat
color
clarity

I think i got ripped off - 1 Carat EGL E SI2 Very Good Cut

joe2fly

Rough_Rock
Hi, I purchased a 1 Carat E SI2 Very Good EGL diamond.
I was told it was a great deal at $3700.
But now i'm seeing diamonds with the sames specks on Solomobrothers.com (i live in atlanta) for much less, about $2700.

Is there a reason why an EGL diamond with such similar specs could differ in price so much?

Are there any other sites where I can check EGL diamond prices?

Did I get ripped off?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice

Joe

HappyNewLife

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: I think i got ripped off - 1 Carat EGL E SI2 Very Good C

I'm no expert, but $2700 for 1 carat sounds low, so that SB diamond probably has no sparkle. Did you actually see the diamond you paid for? If you like it, I think you got a good deal. Even what you paid is pretty low for 1 carat IMO.

daysie8

Rough_Rock

I'm also a newbie here, but which EGL lab was it?

I thought EGL was typically cheaper than GIA, AGS, but then there are variations in EGL labs around the world.

Also, which labs were the diamonds graded at at Solomonbros?

Is it possible for you to refund the diamond to your existing vendor?

joe2fly

Rough_Rock

Yes I think I could get a refund.

The problem is I thought I was getting a GIA diamond for those specs, which I thought was a great deal.

but when i got an EGL, i was dissapointed.

I looked all over the certificate but it doesn't say which EGL, it just says EGL, how can I tell?

Im thinking of going to solomon and comparing this diamond side by side with theirs, you' think they'll let me?

Joe

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock

joe2fly said:

The problem is I thought I was getting a GIA diamond for those specs, which I thought was a great deal.

I looked all over the certificate but it doesn't say which EGL, it just says EGL, how can I tell?

Im thinking of going to solomon and comparing this diamond side by side with theirs, you' think they'll let me?

Joe