shape
carat
color
clarity

I need Help! Novice!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

adorned

Rough_Rock
I am a novice! I have wanted a diamond ring since I could walk. When I got married we had no money. Five years later we do. I have found the perfect ring.
The reason I''m posting is I''m unsure about a few things regarding it. 1. The ring is an Art deco Platinum ring circa 1920 2. Asking price 10.000 that scares me. It''s like having a mini car on my finger.
I had them send it off for certification. Because we didn''t want the stone removed so they could only give color, weight, clarity and measurements.
6.32-6.2x3.78mm
1.1ct Color E VS1 Old European cut. Their appraisal value is 11010.00
is this too much to pay for this ring?
Why is the appraisal so close to asking price?
I can''t figure out how to send a picture. If you want one I will send it.
I would appreciate and input.
I will end with my body temperature increases when this ring is on my finger.
Adorned

widget

Ideal_Rock
Welcome Adorned! I'm just dying to see the Deco ring you're considering! I'm a HUGE fan of these old pieces!

...... my body temperature increases when this ring is on my finger.
Well, this tells me that the price is just right!
2.gif

Seriously...putting a value on an old piece is really tricky, and of course the style, the workmanship, the quality of the diamonds all play a part in determining a price.

I'm a little confused...did you get the ring appraised or the diamond certified?

I can tell you that authentic vintage deco jewelry (not repros) are in great demand now...if the Old European Cut's stats are accurate, this would lead me to think the entire ring is probably top-end, too. E/VS OECs are quite rare.

Do you have a picture of this beauty? If you do, PM me and I'd be happy to post it for you!

widget

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
Hi and welcome to PS
35.gif