shape
carat
color
clarity

Huge chip

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

deckerjam

Rough_Rock
I don''t know where to start or what to ask, but here goes.

I am recently married. My husband received an heirloom ring from his grandmonther with two diamonds to use for my engagement ring. The carat weights are approximately 0.88 and 0.93. The first diamond he had made into my ring. It''s in a custom modified tension mount with white gold. The setting looks like a tension from the top, but has a setting the diamond sits on in order to prevent it from falling out.

The second diamond he had made into a ring for his mother. I know......big sigh......he''s a softy.

Here''s the problem. I work in healthcare and have a wedding band I wear daily. The diamond comes out on special occasions and weekends. I had it on this weekend saw it looking mighty dingy and thought it needed a cleaning. Got out the solution and washed it of. It still didn''t look right so I took a closer look. On inspection my heart dropped as I turned the ring upside down and saw a HUGE chip in the side. We''re talking 2.5 or 3 mm and into the stone. It is ruined. It looks like a piece of shattered glass. I have no recollection of dropping it on a hard surface or slamming my hand in or on any hard surfaces. Happened in the last three weeks as it was perfect on our honeymoon.

1) Would previous smaller chips or fractures cause instability to create this type of chip?
2) We have a rider on homeowners, but is this type of this normally covered?

This is heartbreaking in that it was an heirloom and my husband took the time to design the ring and it was exactly what I wanted. The most info I need is how in the world this could happen with no trama. It will ease my mind to know.....

DiamondExpert

Brilliant_Rock