shape
carat
color
clarity

How would you set this stone? And by whom?

ilovemesomediamonds

Rough_Rock

Hi!

35.gif

First of all, a huge huge thank you to all of you that contribute your expertise and insights on this forum. I am a diamond newbie and have been lurking for the last few months. Thanks to the knowledge I have gained here, I feel I am able to ask more informed questions (sometimes to the surprise of the salespeople!) as we have started shopping for engagement rings. It''s now time for me to ask you to help design my ring!

I think that we have found a diamond that we are strongly considering and may purchase this weekend. It is a GIA certified 1.35 carat radiant cut, with the following dimensions 6.95 x 5.88 x 4.07 mm, so a rectangle, with a ratio of 1 to 1.18, see photo. I love the personality of the stone but am slightly concerned about the size. How would you set this stone to best show it off (maximizing both size and sparkle)? And whom would you recommend for setting it (preferably in the SF Bay Area or reputable PS vendor if not local)?

For reference, my finger size is 4.5 and I plan to go with platinum. I love solitaires (pave ok, may consider three-stone), claw prongs, east-west settings (north-south is fine too) but I am not a fan of halo settings despite their popularity nor bezels for non-round stones. For the wedding band, I am thinking of a simple thin eternity band (style suggestions welcome), and I definitely want the e-ring and wedding band to lie flush. I want the overall look to be clean and feminine as opposed to rockstar bling. I thought I heard something about "illusion" settings (something with a mirrored mount?) but I am not sure what that is, so if someone has an explanation of that, I''d love to know more.

Thank you, thank you, thank you in advance, dear PSers!

phpiKA8RHPM.jpg

slg47

Ideal_Rock
if you want a solitaire...I would go with a solitaire. What is your approx budget for the setting?

Daisi2112

Shiny_Rock