shape
carat
color
clarity

How to tell the difference between real and fake pearls?

Hi everyone! I'm a complete pearl newb. My mom has been sorting through her jewelry and she gave me two pearl strands of hers that she doesn't even remember acquiring, let alone what they could be. She's quite sure they aren't valuable, since she does take care of her expensive pearls well and keeps those separately, but these came out of a mix of gifts she's received and things she impulsively bought over the years.

Are there any good ways of telling the difference for a layman? Would pictures be helpful, and if yes, is there any specific lighting conditions etc. I should take the pictures in? I would assume they are either plastic or at best freshwaters, but would be cool to know which it is!

Thank you!

Pearlescence

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
Hi everyone! I'm a complete pearl newb. My mom has been sorting through her jewelry and she gave me two pearl strands of hers that she doesn't even remember acquiring, let alone what they could be. She's quite sure they aren't valuable, since she does take care of her expensive pearls well and keeps those separately, but these came out of a mix of gifts she's received and things she impulsively bought over the years.

Are there any good ways of telling the difference for a layman? Would pictures be helpful, and if yes, is there any specific lighting conditions etc. I should take the pictures in? I would assume they are either plastic or at best freshwaters, but would be cool to know which it is!

Thank you!

Hi
First of all - do the pearls look too good to be true - too matched, too shiny.possibly fakes, or could be undiscovered very valuable
2 are they knotted? again, could be fakes or some early Japanese strands tended to be unknotted except near the clasp
3 what sort of clasp? If it is 18 carat gold well, which do you think? Cheapo plated..?