shape
carat
color
clarity

How to determine cut of diamond?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

baguettel

Rough_Rock
I am new at this, so please forgive me. I have been told many different things by different goldsmiths/jewellers and if anyone can clarify this for me, it would be greatly appreciated. I am interested in a few princess stones of the 2 carat and above range and I was told that the GIA cert. does not show the cut (ideal, excellent, good etc.). I was told that you determine how good the cut is by the depth, table, polish and symmetry. Others have told me that this is nonsense and I must be able to find out what the cut is. On the other end, I have been offered to view "ideal" stones, but they can''t tell me any of the stats - table, depth etc. until I am actually ready to puchase the stone. I was also told that the table should be smaller than the depth. Any thoughts from anyone? I want to view certain stones that I think are good ones, but don''t want to waste the jeweller''s time bringing them in if they are duds.

pqcollectibles

Ideal_Rock
You should check out the Cut Charts for Princess diamonds at www.gemappraisers.com. Princess cuts are considered a Fancy shape and Fancies are hard to judge on specs alone. Each one needs to be evaluated and seen in person.

To get a general feel for the specs of better performers take a look at princess diamonds at these websites:

www.whiteflash.com Expert Selection

www.goodoldgold.com

www.niceice.com

www.dirtcheapdiamonds.com Signature Series Princess

All 4 Vendors hand select their diamonds for quality and performance. The diamonds are on hand, in stock. You'll get to see the Certs, as well as Ideal Scope images, and other analysis.
1.gif

baguettel

Rough_Rock
Thank you so much for your help! I was beginning to think everyone was ignoring me. I will check out those sites.

pqcollectibles

Ideal_Rock
You are most welcome, Baguettel!!