shape
carat
color
clarity

How low can they go?

TiffanyBlue

Rough_Rock
So, I’m not an expert in lab or natural diamonds, or luxury goods in general. But I am from Gen X where some of us are in the mined-only camp and others are gung ho with lab diamonds. I, myself, have both and love both, but I can’t help but think to myself, hmm…if lab diamonds prices start getting much much lower, will I still think they’re admissable for me? Or will they eventually reach a price, say $1200.00 for a 4 carat diamond, that will borderline (for me) as costume jewelry prices and they won’t feel “as” special?

I feel like, a little bit of cost adds to the luxury feel of the jewelry, but I know lots of others that are like, nope that’s too much, I only paid $700 for my 2 carat lab diamond and wouldn’t mind them to be even lower in price. I mean, I wouldn’t want them to go back to, 2011 prices, but don’t want them to be in the Claire’s category! Lol!

Does that make sense and does anyone else feel that way? I’d love to hear other’s thoughts.

DejaWiz

Ideal_Rock
Hello,TiffanyBlue!
My thought is that certain growers will continue to find ways to make them at less cost.
Quality growers (uncheated/unaccelerated growth process producing the highest quality rough) can only reach a certain point of lowering costs.
There is also the added labor of crafting a quality diamond from quality rough, then the cost to grade it with a reputable lab.
We're already seeing ungraded junk (mixed amongst the graded junk from the unscrupulous growers) out there, so the "race to the bottom" growers are, sadly, gaining some foothold.
Thankfully, there are beloved sellers known quite well to the PriceScope community that offer fully curated and vetted LGDs...that only helps the industry overall to keep the quality growers relevant.

0-0-0

Brilliant_Rock