carat
color
clarity

Help with CA/PA Combination - 35/41

angeljosephy

Rough_Rock
Premium
Hi everyone!

I am a newbie on Pricescope but have spent the past few weeks catching up on the knowledge available here. I have noticed that the recommended measurements for an ideal cut are Crown Angle 34%-35% and Pavilion Angle 40.6%-40.9%, with a 41% Pavilion Angle being acceptable for a Crown Angle closer to 34%.

However, I currently have on hand two 1.5 carats which both have 35% Crown Angle and 41% Pavilion Angle. Can anyone explain to me why a 41% Pavilion Angle should be paired with a 34% Crown Angle, and why a 35% Crown Angle should be paired with a 40.6% Pavilion Angle?

Further, is this the reason why my two diamonds have not scored well on the HCA? How will the performance of my diamonds by affected by the 41% Pavilion Angle?

Thank you for reading my ramblings and grateful for any help I can get on this!

1.52 carat, D, VVS2, 3EX, NON
Measurements: 7.35 - 7.39 x 4.58 mm
Table: 56%
Total Depth: 62.1%
Crown Angle: 35%
Crown Depth: 15.5%
Pavilion Angle: 41%
Pavilion Depth: 43.5%
Star Facets: 50%
Lower Girdle Facets: 80%
Girdle: 3.5% (Medium)

1.52 carat, F, VVS2, 3EX, NON
Measurements: 7.38 - 7.43 x 4.53 mm
Table: 59%
Total Depth: 61.2%
Crown Angle: 35%
Crown Depth: 14.5%
Pavilion Angle: 41%
Pavilion Depth: 43.5%
Star Facets: 50%
Lower Girdle Facets: 80%
Girdle: 3.0% (Medium)

ringo865

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Yes, you are correct that those angles are not complementary to each other. And yes you are correct that is why you are getting a low score on the HCA.

Stones with higher crowns must have shower pavilions. Otherwise, they are referred to as steep/deep stones. Your diameter will be affected for spread (look smaller than carat weight would suggest) and light return is compromised.

If you post your budget and desired specs, people on here will help you find stones that will perform better.

angeljosephy

Rough_Rock
Premium