shape
carat
color
clarity

Help with an old family ring!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

LuvinMyLife86

Rough_Rock
This is my first time posting over here. I just recently remembered that I have an old engagement ring that belonged to my step dads grandmother. I never had the pleasure to meet her, but i met her husband right before he passed and he wanted me to have her ring. I dont know much about jewelry, but I know that I think this ring is beautiful and sparkly. I would like for it to be a RHR and think it would look less like an engagement ring if I replaced the diamond with a pink sapphire. Trouble is, I have no clue how to go about doing this! Is that even possible? I think the diamond is about a 1/2 carat. What could I do with the loose diamond? My step dad suggested selling it and putting that money towards my future engagement ring. Any thoughts? Suggestions?

Thank you in advance for any help!!

Also, I am attaching a picture of it, I know it is horrible quality but its the best I oculd do while at work. But you can kind of get the idea of it, I will post a better picture of it when I'm home later tonight.

ggmaering.JPG

eac

Shiny_Rock
What a good idea! Here is what you do to have a stone swapped in a ring. I just did this with a ring I own:

1. Get a pair of calipers that measure in millimeters. Measure the center stone of the ring. (You can also ask a jeweler to do this for you.)
2. Shop online to find a pink sapphire that's the same shape and size as the diamond. For a round stone, you want something very close in diameter. A half-millimeter bigger or smaller may be OK for a prong setting.
3. Take the ring and the pink sapphire to a jeweler. Ask them to remove the diamond and replace it with the pink sapphire.
4. Voila! New stone in ring.