shape
carat
color
clarity

Help! Need expertise on choosing the right diamond

Turbos

Rough_Rock
Hello all!

I'm looking to upgrade my wife's engagement ring and so far narrowed it down to the following 2 stones. From my research, they are both great cuts based on the numbers on paper. But I'd like to have some expert eyes to take a look before making the purchase.

Option 1: HPHT

Option 2: CVD

If neither are great, I'm open to suggestions with similar specs as well! Below are the rough criteria (I'm completely new to this so I'm open to expert recommendations).

Price: ~$4,000
Carat: 3.0-3.1
Cut: Excellent+
Color: D
Clarity: VVS2-VVS1
Grow Method: HPHT?
Certificate: Preferably GIA, but I read that IGI has been stricter in their grading recently? Does it really matter?

Thank you all in advance!

0515vision

Brilliant_Rock
IGI has a great reputation with LGD. And what're the prices on those two that you posted? I think the experts here will be able to find you something wonderful.

Just curious, if they can find something larger in budget (which is definitely the case with $4k) do you want a larger stone? Or are you set on the 3ct size?

What a great gift! Lucky wife!

Turbos

Rough_Rock
IGI has a great reputation with LGD. And what're the prices on those two that you posted? I think the experts here will be able to find you something wonderful.

Just curious, if they can find something larger in budget (which is definitely the case with $4k) do you want a larger stone? Or are you set on the 3ct size?

What a great gift! Lucky wife!

Thank you for the insight! They're both the same price ~$3,800. Wife is pretty petite and thinks that something above 3ct might be too much for her haha

0-0-0

Brilliant_Rock
I like the cut on option 1 more, but how do you know it’s HPHT?

Turbos

Rough_Rock
I like the cut on option 1 more, but how do you know it’s HPHT?