shape
carat
color
clarity

Help me pick an engagement ring on bluenile.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

apkesh

Rough_Rock
Hi all,
I need to get my girlfriend an engagement ring, everything else is planned and set, except for the ring it self. My budget is between US$3600 and $4200 and I want to get it on bluenile.com, so I get it shipped by Monday. I am a newbie to all this, but I do know that I want to get a nice brilliant looking diamond (around 1 carrot) with not so heavy looking setting (elegant and light so it makes the stone look even bigger)

My pick is http://www.bluenile.com/diamonds_details.asp?pid=LD00528697&filter_id=1 which is .87 Ct only. As I said I know nothing about rings, and I am worried if this is a good bye. Can someone suggest me some specs to look for based on what I mentioned above?

-Self confessed Procrastinator…

poopoojones

Rough_Rock
Go to the Pricescope home page and put your budget into the search tool. I think that you'll find a lot more is available inside your budget then you will find on Blue Nile. That site tends to be a little expensive.

I stared at Blue Nile and ended up getting a lot more for the same amount of money from Jim Schultz at dirtcheapdiamonds.com. I have also heard good things about other vendors here too.

Blue Nile is not the only one that can ship quickly. I think that you'll be surprised how quickly a stone can be delivered even when the broker does not have the stone in his/her inventory.

I went with a G color and SI1 clarity. That seems to be pretty safe bet as far as the stone being white and 'eye clean' without paying too much.

Also, pay careful attention to the cut of the stone. There are good parameters on this site under the 'cut advisor' section.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium