shape
carat
color
clarity

Help finding a 2ct Oval Yellow Diamond

Gelbstein

Rough_Rock
Hey everyone,
To make a long story short, I've been looking for a 2.0ct+ oval yellow diamond for weeks now. I've looked at dozens and dozens, and I think my eyes might be falling out of my head now. :shock:

While I can usually spot quality in a round diamond, I'm a total newb when it comes to ovals and not quite sure what *specifically* I should be looking for when judging an oval. I know about the bowtie effect, looking for sparkle, brilliance, etc., but ovals are just a totally new beast for me, hence why I am seeking the help of all you great people here :mrgreen2:

Budget: I'd like to stay around $10,000, but I'm not opposed to going up to $12,000 for the right stone.
Color: I'm open to any color yellow as long as it looks good. I know the intense and richer yellows are worth a lot more, but I'm not worried about normal yellows and fancy lights, etc.
Ratio: I'd prefer to stay around 1.45~ for the L/W ratio
Clarity: SI1 or better
Use/setting: This will be in a solitaire engagement ring.

I thank you all for your help and patience! Thanks a bunch!

Rockdiamond

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Hi Gelbstein
Welcome to pricescope!
When looking at yellow ovals some considerations are very different from a round diamond and even different from white oval diamonds.
For example- many yellow ovals are “Oval Modified Brilliant’ as classified by GIA.
Basically the cutter adds a few facets on the bottom of the diamond which cause the light to bounce around more than in a typical colorless oval. When done correctly this design completely eliminates the bow tie effect.
In your budget you’ll likely be looking at lighter yellow stones.
Important- make sure to only trust GIA grading

I hope this helps!

Vogue

Shiny_Rock
I agree with tyty333, look into the DBL oval. You might also ask for more info on https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-di...w/oval-cut/2.01-carat-si1-clarity-sku-4159972