shape
carat
color
clarity

Help -- buying engagement ring for girlfriend!

GSV

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I have been looking for an engagement ring on and off for a few months now, and am now getting to get serious. I actually went to look at rings with my girlfriend yesterday! I am new to the diamond business and any guidance or suggestions that users on this forum have would be much appreciated. I can't log-in and post from work, so thank you in advance for any thoughts you may have.

In general, I am looking for a Round, 1.75 carat, F, VS1, Hearts and Arrows. I've looked around a bit myself and came up with the following:

1) http://www.bluenile.com/round-diamond-1-carat-signature-ideal-cut-f-color-vs1-clarity_LD01431283 (I am not sure if this is H&A, though, since I couldn't find this information on Blue Nile)

2) http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/4755/ (I like this but had a question on the different shades of red in the center of the "Arrows" image and was wondering about the "Medium" flourescence. Do either of these matter?)

3) http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-2561973.htm (I like this one, too, but was worried / concerned about the green color in the center of the "Aset" image. Is this something to be worried about?)

Also, my girlfriend like a 1.75 carat stone on her finger more than a 2.0 carat stone. She's a petite girl and was worried that the 2.0 carat one stood out too much. I would actually prefer to buy a 2.0 carat ring. How would people analyze the difference between a 1.75 F, VS1, H&A vs. a 2.0 G, VS2, H&A? I would like to be in the same pricing zipcode for the 2.0 carat, hence the drop in color and clarity...Is it just better in general to buy 2+ carat rings? Does the increased size compensate for the drop in quality in your opinion?

Thank you very much. I really do appreciate any help you guys and gals can offer.

Todd Gray

Brilliant_Rock
Trade