shape
carat
color
clarity

Help a Conflicted Engineer Review a Few Diamonds

andlours1

Rough_Rock
Hey everyone,

I want to start off by saying this forum and PriceScope have been incredibly helpful. They’ve prevented me from buying a few dud diamonds and have given me a nice beginner's grasp of how to select a diamond. Thank you for all the great information!

I’m an engineer by trade and have a tendency to over analyze just about everything (probably how I stumbled upon this website in the first place). I’m looking to purchase a diamond that’s over 2.0 carats, wanting to keep the cost of the stone under $17k. My criteria are as follows:
- > 2.0 carats
- Eye-clean
- GIA or AGS certified
- HCA score of < 2.0
- Willing to go down to J color
- Yellow gold shank with platinum prongs
- think fluorescent diamonds are kind of cool

I’ve found the three options below and am curious as to what you all think about them? I know they’re shallower cuts, but they all have solid HCA scores. Does any one of them stand out as better than the others? Am I crazy and they’re all junk and I should consider something different?

Thank you in advanced for all your help. Hopefully you can help this indecisive engineer become a little bit more decisive in the coming days.

IMG_0299.png IMG_3976.png IMG_0297.png

Kim N

Ideal_Rock
Premium

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Wow what a good time to be buying natural diamonds! Such huge stones for your budget!

I also enjoy the more classic proportions of #1.

DejaWiz

Ideal_Rock
Thanks for the quick response! Are you basing that off the more favorable depth and table percentages?

Yes indeed! The PA/CA/TW combo is right in the sweet spot for a great balance of brilliance and fire.

LightBright

Brilliant_Rock
Premium