shape
carat
color
clarity

Hello and how much should I pay for this diamond?!!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

saradbx

Rough_Rock
Hello Everyone
35.gif

This is my first post - I am a complete newbie to diamond hunting and would like some expert advice please! I live in Dubai and would like to buy a diamond. I started researching on the net and going to the Diamond Park (in Dubai) to view stones only a couple of weeks ago, so I am just finding my feet with it all. So far, I have settled on the following specifications:

HRD certificate
Very Good proportions
Excellent polish and symmetry
VS2 (with no inclusions directly under the table)
G colour
No flourescence
Culet small or very small
Girdle thin to slightly thick
Round brilliant

I have been offered one diamond that has come close to the above, except the polish is ''good''. The table on this diamond is 64%, Pavillion depth is 41.5%, girdle is medium faceted 3.5%, it has a HRD Very Good grade for Proportion - final price $48,500. Sorry I didn''t write down the total depth but will get this tomorrow. I hope this is enough information and have a couple of questions for the experts..

1. There is no actual ''cut'' grade on a HRD certification. There is just Proportions, Polish and Symmetry. Is the Proportions grade the cut grade?
2. If I am only going to buy a Very Good Proportions diamond, which is the top grade for HRD, what are the good and bad variations for table and depth that I need to know within this grade?
3. Do you think this price is okay?
4. I am also considering buying from ajediam.com - they have a Dubai Diamonds wholesale price http://www.ajediam.com/Dubai_Diamonds_Prices.html - does anyone know anything about them?
5. I am going tomorrow to look at a diamond that one dealer has said is a ''Russian Cut'' that contains more facets than a normal diamond. I couldn''t find any information on this.. is this some kind of sales ploy?