shape
carat
color
clarity

Green tourmaline

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

redsiren

Rough_Rock
Hi All!

I have a few questions--

I was in a jewelry store in VA on vacation and I saw the most gorgeous ring that had seven green tourmalines in a white gold setting. The green color was a deep emerald type of hue--I believe it is called chrome tourmaline? I''m not sure. It was a stair step type of design with a large tourmaline in the middle with the tourmalines getting smaller as the steps went down. Well, of course the ring was way too expensive for me to buy, but the jeweler let me take a photo of it so I could remember what it looked like. I also didn''t want to attempt to talk him down on the price because I have no knowledge of tourmalines and wouldn''t know how to estimate the actual worth of the ring.

I have my heart set on having a ring like that some day. My questions are:

How expensive is green tourmaline? If I were wanting to speak to someone who could design the ring for me, would that be much cheaper? If so, who are some reputable designers to speak with? I''m fairly clueless in the jewelry market, so your help would be great!

elmo

Brilliant_Rock
I've seen folks advertise very nice chrome tourmaline in the $200-500/carat range. A suite of matching stones makes this an interesting problem
1.gif

Gemstudded

Rough_Rock
Chrome Tourmaline is the rarest and most expensive type of Tourmaline, up there with the Pariaba Tourmaline. It is mainly found in Africa and can command very high prices for large stones. A 2ct cut Chrome Tourmaline is considered large. Be aware that some dealers sell any dark green Tourmaline as Chrome Tourmaline it isn't, get it certified.