shape
carat
color
clarity

Good place to buy settings online?

CtrlAltElite

Rough_Rock
Joined
Sep 26, 2015
Messages
14
Looking for a few settings for the stones I have. I keep finding settings in the $2k+ range without a stone. There surly has to be a cheaper way. Any recommended sellers on ebay or anything?
 

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Messages
38,013
It depends on the quality you are looking for. There are good reasons why the eBay settings are much less expensive than Stuller settings. What is important to you in a setting? Workmanship? Good diamonds? Study durable settings?

Ebay Setting Vendors
American Set - http://myworld.ebay.com/americanset/?_trksid=p4340.l2559
Lan.bo4 - http://www.ebay.com/sch/lan.bo4/m.html
diamondmounts - http://myworld.ebay.com/diamondmounts
jewe2004 - http://stores.ebay.com/jewe2004
LOGR (Lord of Gem Rings) - http://stores.ebay.com/Lord-of-Gem-Rings
leejewelry
beyondjewelry3

Etsy Stone and/or Setting Vendors
Adzia - http://www.etsy.com/people/AdziasJewelryAtelier
Caysie VanBebber of CVB Inspired Design www.etsy.com/shop/CVBinspiredDesign
Sally of Heart of Water - http://www.etsy.com/people/HeartofWaterJewels
KosnarGemCo https://www.etsy.com/shop/KosnarGemCo and http://kosnargemco.com/
Kyleanne - http://www.etsy.com/people/kyleannemetals
Maddie of OneGarnetGirl - http://www.etsy.com/people/onegarnetgirl
Jill of janishjewels - http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanishJewels
JuliaB - http://www.etsy.com/shop/JuliaBJewelry
Yvonne Raley of Cecile Raley Designs - https://www.etsy.com/shop/yvonneraley

Custom Setting Vendors
Brian Gavin Diamonds (BGD) - www.briangavindiamonds.com
Brilliantly Engaged (BE, formally known as ERD) - http://www.brilliantlyengaged.com
Victor Canera - www.victorcanera.com
Michael E - http://gemshoppe.com
Green Lake Jewelry - www.greenlakejewelry.com
Joseph Jewelry - https://www.josephjewelry.com
Steven Kirsch http://www.stevenkirsch.com
David Klass https://www.facebook.com/david.klass.jewelry
IDJewelry http://www.idjewelryonline.com
Quest Fine Jewelry http://questfinejewelers.com
Hunt Country Jewelers http://huntcountry.com
Peter Lees Jewelry http://peterlees.com
Beatriz Fortes http://www.beatrizfortes.com
Julia Kay Taylor http://juliakaytaylor.com/

Other sites
Diamond Bistro - www.diamondbistro.com
Jewels By Grace: http://www.jewelsbygrace.com
Love Affair Diamonds: http://www.loveaffairdiamonds.com
Pearlman's www.pearlmansjewelers.com
Loupetroop: http://www.loupetroop.com
 

jstarfireb

Ideal_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
6,232
Great list from Chrono! I'd add My Diamond Zone to the eBay stores:

http://stores.ebay.com/MyDiamondZone

They have a more limited selection than some of the Chinese sellers, but being in Chicago, they're usually able to get things out a bit faster for those of us in the US.
 

Michael_E

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
1,290
CtrlAltElite|1444223471|3935754 said:
There surly has to be a cheaper way.

The least expensive way to set any stone is by using commercially made settings that are meant for a specific size of stone, (or stones, as there are many setting which are made for multiple stones). ANY vendor, in most developed places in the world has access to these settings and any bench jeweler who you would want working on your ring has the capability to modify many of these commercial settings to fit your stone. These types of settings will generally retail in a range from $300 and up for the metalwork and then have added costs for other stones such as diamond melee. You can't by from these sellers and must use a retail vendor to use these settings, BUT you can look at their catalogs and find things that may appeal to you, pick something and take that info to your favorite bench jeweler so that they can set your stone and size the piece properly, (and I don't know anyone who's turn down this type of work, since it's what's known as, "gravy"...very easy to do). These catalogs are also a good place to get ideas...you can use them to cut and paste different features to get an idea of what you might like in a custom piece for instance.

I'm not sure if the Admin's would object to a list of commercial settings, if so please accept my apologies and delete whatever is not kosher in this post. Anyway here's a list of just a few online commercial setting vendor's who have decent pictures:
http://www.stuller.com/
http://www.uniquesettings.com/
http://www.overnightmountings.com/
http://www.adwar.com/
http://www.leoingwer.com/
 
Be a part of the community It's free, join today!
    A Diva Got Her Diamond: Kristen Chenoweth is Engaged!
    A Diva Got Her Diamond: Kristen Chenoweth is Engaged! - 12/03
    December Birthstones 2021 - Zircon, Turquoise, and Tanzanite
    December Birthstones 2021 - Zircon, Turquoise, and Tanzanite - 12/01
    "Not so Fast!" says Mother Nature
    "Not so Fast!" says Mother Nature - 11/29
Top