shape
carat
color
clarity

Gary Dutton & Whiteflash pendant / enhancer

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Rosa

Shiny_Rock
Hi everyone,

I had taken a long hiatus from Pricescope due to just not having the time to troll through the posts, always a favorite pastime. However, it would be remiss of me not to post a big thanks to everyone who made suggestions last summer about finding a red spinel and creating a custom pendant.

I worked with Gary Dutton who was just fantastic. We found a spinel in my budget from Palagems. Before finding the perfect one for my project, Gary patiently fielded a lot of requests on color variations, inclusions, shapes, and pretty much everything since I was a complete novice! The photos he sent with GIA color paddles next to the stones really helped - it must have been a lot of work for him but since we were working together over email (he is in Arizona; I''m in NYC) it was incredibly helpful.

The final stone was an oval - here is the description I saved from the Palagems site - I am attempting to attach their photo as well:

Stock No.: 16657
Gem Type: Spinel
Variety: Red
Weight: 1.68 carats
Number of Pieces: 1
Cut/Shape: Oval
Measurements: 7.5 x 6.4 x 4.6 mm
Origin: Burma
Enhancements: None
Description: Fiery red.

After receiving the stone, I got a quote from Whiteflash that I could live with and worked initially with Lesley (before she left Whiteflash) and later with Vera Wages. They were both a pleasure. The designer Joe Druhot was great - very receptive to ideas and really wonderful at translating those into reality.

I can''t thank everyone here on Pricescope enough, as I would never have undertaken this project if this forum hadn''t shown me the way!

I will post photos of the completed pendant in a second - I hope it inspires other newbies to follow through on a project that may only be in their imaginations right now!

Rosa

16657 Palagems spinel.jpg

Rosa