shape
carat
color
clarity

fluorescence

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jenabelle1218

Rough_Rock
I have an EGL certified diamond that states no fluorescence. BUT, my diamond glows under a black light. Is that possible? It really bothers me. Under regular light, the stone is beautiful, it is clear but the glowing upsets me because of what the certification states. Any advice?
TIA

siknastyinc

Rough_Rock
im no expert as you can notice but it really should not matter as long as it looks pretty in regular light. the fluoro pending what color is actually loved by many of the experts on here so if it looks pretty and doesnt have any milky or oily look to it i would smile and be on my marry way

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
What colour does it fluorescence? Fluoro doesn''t bother me, in fact, I always actively look for diamonds with fluorescence. The only thing that concerns me is why your stone doesn''t match up to the cert. Perhaps, this is the time to check the stone out with an independent appraiser to make sure it is the correct stone while getting his/her opinion on why it doesn''t match up.

wen104

Shiny_Rock
I will say from reading other posts about cerifications, EGL is loose on grading. I personally love fluorescence in a diamond and if I ever buy another one I will seek that out as my current one does not have it. I have tested my diamond under a black light and it does not give off a glow at all. If your diamond glows under a black light then chances are it has fluorescence. That being said how long have you had this ring? Can you take it back and talk to the seller, maybe pick a different stone? Fluorescence is not for everyone but definitely something alot seek out.

WinkHPD

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Impossible for me to say for sure without seeing the stone, but???