shape
carat
color
clarity

First Timer: Selecting an ACA, please help :)

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lite_speed

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

This is my first post, and I must say that the folks in PS are as fantastic as the diamonds discussed. I do need some opinions on a stone for a novice like me here (and please don''t mind the puny size of the stones I am considering) on three ACAs I am seriously considering. Please help and any comments are much appreciated!

ACA H&A 0.61 I VS1 $1730

ACA H&A 0.57 G VS2 $1975

ACA H&A 0.53 F VS2 $2170

I have a budget of around $2k. I have short listed 3 stones and I have 3 questions:

1: Does I color look reasonably good? I have no prior experience and do not want people to go: Oh! you got a colored stone.

2. Which one of the stones offer the best performance-to-price ratio?

3. I am leaning towards candidate one, am I a sucker for big carats versus color?

Thanks lots!!

Skippy123

Super_Ideal_Rock
How about this one if you are considering an I; ask if it is eye clean and only $1450 and it is .62 carats
http://www.whiteflash.com/hearts_arrows/A-Cut-Above-H-A-cut-diamond-347693.htm

If you talk to WF they should be able to tell you and then you have a big beautiful stone for cheaper.
36.gif

jstarfireb

Ideal_Rock
Is your budget 2k for just the stone, or the stone and setting together?

At this range, I''d try to drop color and clarity to the lowest you''re comfortable with (I-J/SI1-SI2 would be where I''d draw the line) and bump the size up a bit.

The ones you posted all look good, but I like Skippy''s idea even better since it saves you some cash, so you can put a bit more into the setting.

Alternatively, if you can push the budget up just a tad, here''s a slightly larger rock that looks pretty good to me:
http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/2788/

snlee

Ideal_Rock
Welcome to PS lite_speed!