shape
carat
color
clarity

First Pearls: Pearl Source vs PearlsOnly?

eico323

Rough_Rock
Hello! I’m a pearl newbie and looking to get a set for my graduation at the end of March. I’m 24, and very petite. I’m thinking of going for white freshwater pearls as I’m looking for longevity, 18”, and maybe 7.5-8mm. I’m wanting the best quality I can buy, although my budget is around £500-600.

My issue is that I’m UK based, and the extra charges of shipping and customs will add up. I found a 7.5-8mm Freshadama set on Pearl Paradise for roughly $760 (£560 give or take) but I’m not sure I can justify what I imagine will be at least an additional £100 for shipping and customs, and possible bank charges for paying in USD. If it wasn’t for this, I’d buy these pearls.

I found a set on Pearl Source which (after all my adjustments) is £553 for 8-8.5mm pearls which are said to be AAAA quality. I know that the grading scale technically does not go this far and I believe PS has some negative reviews on here.

I also found a set on Pearls Only which is £456 for AAAA pearls, 7-8mm. I haven’t seen many mentions of this site on here and I’m a bit concerned about the 1mm range in size as I’m not sure if this is common. Also, I know it’s a bit shallow, but the whole website seems a bit less professional and polished.

I’m a bit torn over what to do. My questions are: has anyone ordered off PS or PO before, and if you were me which pearls would you buy?

Thank you!

Last edited:

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have never bought from either, but back in 2007 when I bought my Freshadama strand from Pearl Paradise, they came in full-millimeter range. 7-8mm, 8-9mm etc.

I got a 7-8mm strand (only because 8-9mm were over my budget). The strand looked just a bit too small on me. With a full mm range, too many of the pearls are in the lower half of the range. If I were you, I'd aim for 7.5-8.0mm instead, whoever you buy from.

Daisys and Diamonds

Super_Ideal_Rock