shape
carat
color
clarity

Experts: What is wrong with this Princess stone?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

nightswimming

Rough_Rock
Report: GIA
Shape: Princess
Carat: 0.94
Color: F
Clarity: VS1
Depth: 71.3
Table: 69
Crown Angle: 32.1
Crown %: 8.3
Pavilion Angle: 59.8
Pavilion %: 59.9
Girdle: Very thin to slightly thick
Polish: Very Good
Symmetry: Very Good
Culet: None
Fluorescence: No
Measurements: 5.62-5.40X3.85
Length/Width: 1.04
price $4,000

sarin_GIA-12597706.gif

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
Im no expert but look at the girdle plot if it doesnt allready have a chip out of it it soon will.

Also there is almost a 10 degree difference in the angles displayed in the lower right hand diagram.

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock

sarin_GIA-1259770611.gif

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The variance in agles (circled in red above) is not abnormal, but I do not like that chip either - at all. There is no trace of discount for it either. The angles indeed show potential for good light return, but... I would hate to see a crack in my stone one day!

nightswimming

Rough_Rock
well, thank you all very much. that makes a big difference! I will pass this one up! THank you immensely!!!

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
valeria101,
Wouldnt the huge angle difference lead to light leakage?
Or is that a non-critical area on princess cuts?
Or are bad cuts just the norm with them?

Glad I was right about the girdle atleast...

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
----------------
On 11/30/2003 2:23:08 AM strmrdr wrote:

Wouldn't the huge angle difference lead to light leakage?
Or is that a non-critical area on princess cuts?
Or are bad cuts just the norm with them?
----------------