shape
carat
color
clarity

Engaging Sapphire

dommer

Rough_Rock
Hello!
I am looking to get a sapphire for an engagement ring. I'm new to this and wanted to get some opinions. I found out about this site from my girlfriend. I would like to get something in the light to light/medium pink range, around 2 carats, and one that will go well on a halo design. We are flexible in regards to the shape but no pears or round. I would like to get something for under $2,000. I came across a couple potential gems. These two sapphires represent the color ranges we are looking for.

http://www.finewatergems.com/store/p17/2.10_ct_Pink_Sapphire.html

https://shop.pristinegemstonejewelr...ry-for-14k-rose-gold-gemstone-engagement-ring

Since I'm new to this world can you please provide input or feedback on these stones? I greatly appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks,

chroman

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Congratulations! You've come to a good place. Deep breath :)

When you say $2k for the budget, is that for the whole ring, or just the stone? A common bit of advise here is to fine the perfect stone first, since thats often the harder part, and then get a jeweler to set that. The setting (gold ring, tiny diamonds for the halo, and the labor) can all add up (and can vary from jeweler to jeweler).

If 2k is the total ring budget, getting an idea of how much the setting will cost would be a good step. I suck at setting prices, but perhaps someone else can chime in with what a halo might run.

I do like that finewater stone, and theres probably some other good stones out there (I'd like to post some links, but I'm running out the door!)

One other thought - spinel can do pink very well and is durable. Would that be an option too? Here's a couple examples of nice pink spinel:
https://gemfix.com/gems/spinel-31-304
https://gemfix.com/gems/spinel-31-299
https://gemfix.com/gems/spinel-31-328

dommer

Rough_Rock