shape
carat
color
clarity

eBay sellers.

deal_me_in

Rough_Rock
Trade
Hi there I’m new to pricescope and i was hoping to get some advise…

I’ve always wanted to to expand my knowledge about colored stones but have put it off for years, but I’ve noticed (especially this last year ) they are building quite a momentum within the market and some even rivaling Diamond in popularity And price.

i know there are online course available at GIA but i can really only learn so much from a book.
i need actual experience handling gemstones.

i was looking on eBay to see what was out there, and I found a couple sellers who seem okay, but then again, when it looks to good to be true….

i understand there is risk, but i don’t want to get completely scammed either.
has anyone ever bought from “ ethicalminerals “ or “ shootingstargems “ ?

are there any sellers on eBay that are trustworthy??
I mean they can’t ALL be scammers can they?

don’t sugar coat it. Please.

VividRed

Brilliant_Rock
You won’t learn much by buying cheap crap, regardless of the platform.

Don’t discount what you can learn from books, that would be a mistake.

Ebay is hard unless you know what you’re doing.

Best is to go to the closest gems show and see as much stuff as possible + ask questions

Good luck!

Welcome to the forum, @deal_me_in! I wholeheartedly agree with Vivid. And education is a start, but the best way to gain experience with gem buying is to go to shows... lots of them. View as many stones in person as possible. And, yes, trial and error buying is also a necessity. You may make some mistakes along the way and you may sometimes find a steal. It's all part of the journey. Have fun with it!

marymm

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Also, if you haven't already, check out whether there are any mineral & gem organizations in your geographic area -- they are a great resource.

dk168

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium