shape
carat
color
clarity

East-West Colored Stone Marquise?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Lillers

Rough_Rock
Hi! I''m new here, but have been lurking for awhile. I am currently working on a little project that involves a colored gemstone, specifically a marquise cut. This is just all in my head right now, but I am looking for opinions on the type of gem that would work best for this project, as well as where to source it from. Also, any ideas of where to find a simple E-W setting? I am on a limited budget overall. I am a student, and I am making this ring as a graduation present to myself! Thanks for all the help you all can give me.
1.gif

beaujolais

Ideal_Rock
What colors do you like or not like for starters?

Lillers

Rough_Rock
I know that was a broad topic
2.gif
but I don''t have too much of a preference. I like more saturated colors over lighter colors. I have seen some beautiful spinels and garnets here. Lovely sapphires as well, but probably out of budget! In order of preference I would say:

1. Red/Purple colors
2. Dark blue/purple/green
3. Green

ma re

Ideal_Rock
I''m guessing you''re only thinking about transparent materials. If you''re not, a tahitian pearl with (so called) peacock overtones would cover most of the colors you mention. Of the transparent stuff, you could actually go for some color change stone (sapphire or garnet maybe; alexandrite would surely be out of your budget), that is if you can''t decide on one color. BTW there are lesser known color change stones besides those mentioned, but experts here would have to help out here to inform you about them.

One method of choosing one color I found usefull is:
1. choose colors you like
2. out of those, eliminate the ones that don''t look very good on you
3. out of those left, eliminate any that you don''t like combined with other colors used (of metal, side stones...)
That might get you closer to your decision.