shape
carat
color
clarity

E-Ring from 2008

ExplorePS

Rough_Rock
Hi PSers! Happy valentines day and hope everyone's is getting their fill of chocolates and diamonds. I've never wanted to ask this question but I think I've gotten to the point that the answer won't change anything (my feelings or what we plan on doing with the ring), which is a good place to be!

We got engaged in 2008. Still going strong and happily married with other anniversary bling to wear. I don't wear this e-ring very often but husband is sentimental and doesn't want to take it apart for earring studs, which is what I toyed around with. He rather that I wear it once in awhile, which I still do even though I gravitate more to my other rings. We bought the ring before pricescope days and brick and mortar was the primary way to purchase jewelry. I know it's not cut well as the GIA report shows it is 1.5 ct but it faces up like a 1.4 ct. I don't own a loupe and I'm ok with eye-cleaned stones. I'm just not an PS pro like many of ya'll but can you tell it to me straight so I can stop thinking about it?

Is this an "ok" stone, but we overpaid tremendously? Believe we spent about $10K for the stone and then the shared prong band was $2,500 plus probably about $500 for the platinum head setting? I know diamond prices were lower back then too so when I'm looking online for something comparable (not to purchase but just to answer this question), it seems like we paid a big mark up because of the local store. Appreciate the help that hopefully will give me peace of mind in terms of factual learning! Thank you!

1707928724845.png 20160324_161722.jpg

ExplorePS

Rough_Rock
I won't speak to prices but if you don't frequently wear it due to performance, reaching out to a recut vendor might be an option for you.