shape
carat
color
clarity

Does anyone have a roomba (or other robot vacuum)?

Dee*Jay

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm thinking of getting one of these but there are so many different ones, ranging from $200 to $2000 (yes--TWO THOUSAND DOLLARS) that I need some real life feedback before I go whipping out the ol' AmEx.

If you have one of these please chime in! Do you like it? How does it handle tassels on oriental rugs or cow skin rugs if you happen to have any? Do you find it gets stuck in a lot of places (under furniture, transitioning from rugs to wood floors, etc.)? What things do you love or not love about it? Any feedback will be much appreciated!

arkieb1

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have a Roomba and a Scooba both are O.K but I use them to alternate, I clean the old fashioned way then a few days later I used to used them. My Roomba died a couple weeks after the warranty ran out and I have not taken it anywhere to be fixed, I am not sure if you can fix them or you throw it out and buy a new one.

The Scooba which washes wooden floors was probably cooler than the Roomba overall. They did get stuck on things and they have a meltdown if they suck up kids toys or objects they do not like. For a basic general clean both are O.K.

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
My friend had a mid-range one that she constantly raved about and insisted I get one. I asked her to bring it over one day before dinner, and the roomba ended up upside down and unable to right itself in the kitchen (on floormat over hardwood), the bathroom (another floormat, but different material, over tile), and in my bedroom corner (on absolutely nothing except carpet) before it gave up. Needless to say, I didn't buy one.

gregchang35

Ideal_Rock
We have the roomba. We love it. we used it all the time for 2yrs until we got a cleaner.