shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamonds Direct from Alrosa?

Discussion in 'RockyTalky' started by HDer, Aug 15, 2019 at 1:43 PM.

1. HDer
    Brilliant_Rock

by HDer » Aug 15, 2019 at 1:43 PM
    Was doing some light browsing at Octonus's cutwise.com and came across this diamond: https://cutwise.com/diamond/38870 The seller caught my eye: ALROSA Polished Diamonds.

Did a little searching and found this: https://www.diamonds.net/news/NewsItem.aspx?ArticleID=63784 Title: Alrosa to sell directly to consumers.

Looks like they have a site with a diamond search up and running. https://diamonds.alrosa.ru/diamonds/?enter=true

Has anyone tried buying a diamond direct from Alrosa? I've been predicting for a few years now that the Indian cutters may start getting into the retail business, but this looks like more of a wholly vertically integrated operation mine to retail (in this respect similar to Forevermark?).

Combined with something like cutwise this could be really good for consumers, lowering prices while increasing transparency. Might put more pressure on independent retail operations though.

2. OoohShiny
    Ideal_Rock

by OoohShiny » Aug 15, 2019 at 4:02 PM
    Interesting site!

I can't see any pictures or videos on the alrosa site (and Octonus doesn't work on this computer :( ), so it seems like one has to request them for each stone? (Unless it was just because I was looking at ECs and the other shapes have them?)

I'm not sure what the 'Age' column is - age of sales listing?

@Serg would be the man in the know, I reckon, if he doesn't mind being tagged! :???: :)

HDer and MK Malone like this.
  3. HDer
    Brilliant_Rock

by HDer » Aug 15, 2019 at 6:32 PM
    I think the age refers to date mined. It's surprising to see how many stones take years to sell.

EDIT: never mind. Looks like the age and year values are not correlated.

Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 6:57 PM
  4. Serg
    Ideal_Rock
    Trade

5. Serg
    Ideal_Rock
    Trade

OoohShiny likes this.