shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond Check please! Does this Oval have a bowtie? Do your worst. [Pics/videos inside]

PonderingPine

Rough_Rock
Still in my return window for this diamond I bought. 3ct D VS1. Does anything stick out as uncharacteristic of a diamond with this color/clarity/size?

Are there any issues that stick out to you guys? I'm a noob but want to make sure this is a good diamond before getting it set / while I'm still in my return window. Pics/videos below:

Videos:
  • Outside - Shade:
  • Outside - sunlight:
  • Inside - overhead lights:
  • Desk light:

Still Photos:

Runningmama

Shiny_Rock
Yes, it does appear to have a small bow tie. All brilliant cut ovals will. The only way to completely avoid one is to go the crushed ice route.

Last edited:

PonderingPine

Rough_Rock
Yes, it does appear to have a small bow tie. All brilliant cut ovals will. The only way to completely avoid one is to go the crushed ice route.

How bad do you think it is? Would you return and try another? This stone is a GCAL 8x, so I was hoping there wouldn't be one. Or that it would be unnoticeable, rather.

Runningmama

Shiny_Rock
How bad do you think it is? Would you return and try another? This stone is a GCAL 8x, so I was hoping there wouldn't be one. Or that it would be unnoticeable, rather.

All brilliants have bowties. This is a small one. If it bothers you, I would look for a hybrid or crushed ice variant.

Jax172

Brilliant_Rock
They all do but this doesn’t look like a bad one. But you will likely notice it more when it’s set so bear that in mind too. It’s just part of a standard oval cut. You can get proprietary oval styles that do not have one but in my opinion they don’t truly look like an oval shape.

PonderingPine

Rough_Rock